Kiaora Place, Double Bay

“Winner of 2016 Urban Taskforce Retail Development of the Year”

  • Outstanding partnership between local council and private sector
  • Community led mix of retail and services
  • Catalyst for suburb revitalisation

Rook Salinger was engaged by Woollahra Municipal Council (WMC) in 2012 to create an overall property strategy and project leasing service for their $110 million Kiaora Lane development, a joint venture with Woolworths Limited. Double Bay had been suffering since the opening of Westfield Bondi Junction. This project was essential to revitalise the Double Bay area and it was critical to have the right team in place.

Phase 1 of the project comprised Woolworths, Dan Murphys, About Life and 25 shops (1450m2). Phase 2 followed, delivering 3800 m2 of commercial space and a new 2100 m2 public library.

Key project objectives:

1. Create a new vibrant retail and commercial precinct to stimulate Double Bay

2. Create new community infrastructure

3. Generate long term sustainable financial returns for WMC stakeholders

4. Bring in new businesses to Double Bay

5. Introduce inner city quality restaurants and cafes

6. Complement existing retail in Double Bay

Mayor of Woollahra, Councillor Toni Zeltzer, said “The revitalisation of the commercial centre of Double Bay is attracting new opportunities in what is Sydney’s most stylish bayside village. The Kiaora Place development and new library is the first step in returning Double Bay to a vibrant and exciting place to live, work and visit.”

Key Project Outcomes:

1. All financial objectives exceeded with significant valuation uplift from initial feasibility

2. Best in class food operators introduced to Double Bay

3. Community uses introduced including Childcare, Medical and health services such as a Day Surgery

4. The community has embraced the development as the new meeting place

5. 100% leased on opening

6. One of the best performing Woolworths and Dan Murphys in Australia

7. Winner of the 2016 Urban Taskforce Retail Development of the Year